Pelican State Credit Union Grants $6,000 in College Scholarship Awards

6000 in College Scholarship Awards.jpg

Pelican State Credit Union Grants $6,000 in College Scholarship Awards

Pelican State Credit Union granted a $500 scholarship award to 12 college-bound members in its branch communities across the state.

Pelican's scholarship program was founded six years ago under the leadership of Jeffrey K. Conrad, CEO/President. "The young men and women chosen to receive scholarship awards stood out among their peers as future leaders of our communities. We look forward to helping these members reach their educational goals," said Conrad

Each year, recipients are chosen by a democratic committee made up of Pelican employees who volunteer their time. Applicants are scored anonymously based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, leadership, community service and letters of recommendation.

Pelican has a long-standing history of service to local communities and the scholarship awards will support those high school graduates who exhibit the same commitment.

2013 Recipients:

Aisha Cook, Kentwood Magnet High School

Alix Tromblay, Opelousas Catholic High School

Allison Mueller, Alfred M. Barbe High School

Angelique Burrell, Richwood High School

Austin Aucoin, St. Michael the Archangel High School

Katherine Mashburn, Tioga High School

Laekyn Tomlinson, Zachary High School

Luther Pringle, Doyle High School

Marcus Harris, East Feliciana High School

Maresa Watson, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Passion Leach, Peabody Magnet High School

Savion Brown, Fair Park High School

Scholarship awards are granted annually. Applications are accepted from January – April each year. For more information on eligibility and the application process, call 1-800-351-4877.